Oakmount Triangle Residents’ Association

The purpose of OTRA is to protect and promote the interests of the Oakmount Triangle and those who live there. Membership is open to residents in Blenheim Avenue, 1-5 Highfield Road, Leigh Road, Oakmount Avenue and Westbourne Crescent together with 19 Brookvale.

The Association does not levy a subscription but raises funds when needed through social events and voluntary donations. The Conservation Group is a sub-committee of the main committee.

Contact OTRA

Please get in touch!

We are always happy to answer any questions or help with planning applications. Please feel free to ask via telephone at 80554406, email via contact form here or on the community forum.

OTRA can only give informal advice, all decisions regarding planning applications set with SCC

OTRA Coronavirus Neighbourly Care

We have started a discussion on the forum see here

Please look out especially for the more vulnerable residents – help with shopping, keep in touch if they are in isolation – whatever you can do to help.

The Oakmount Triangle

The triangle is situated in Highfield, Southampton adjacent to Southampton Common. The triangle shape is formed by Oakmount Avenue, Blenheim Avenue and Westbourne Crescent, intersected by Leigh Road. In addition to these roads, Nos 1 – 5 Highfield Road and 19 Brookvale Road are included.

The triangle was built mainly in the early part of the twentieth century by architect John Smith on the original site of Highfield House

Many of these stylish houses still boast their original features and the triangle is now a conservation area.

The Discussion Forum

This is where you can discuss anything of interest to residents of the triangle – news, items wanted, items for sale, tradespeople, local history, wildlife. Or just get to know each other. Just follow the link at the top of the page.


OTRA Constitution

OTRA Constitution

OTRA Events

The residents association is keen to foster a community spirit. In the past we have organised street parties and other events.

See all our latest events.

OTRA Committee Members

  • John Marshall
  • Colin Bagust
  • Pete Thomas (Chair)
  • Peter Bevan (Secretary)
  • Martin Benning (Treasurer)
  • Stephen Connolly
  • Malcolm White (Vice chair)
  • Jo Brown
  • Rafia Deader
  • Rob Heather
  • Dave White
  • Gulzar Sharif

Conservation Subcommittee

  • John Marshall
  • Rob Heather
  • Pete Thomas (Ex-officio)
  • Jo Brown (Secretary)
  • Rafia Deader
  • Colin Bagust
  • Dave White


Highfield Residents AssociationLatest Newsletter
Southampton City Council – Planning
Highfield CE Primary School
Highfield After School Club
Highfield Church
CommonSense Preserving the character of the “Little Common”.
Portswood Community news for Portswood & nearby areas